UNT Health Bone & Joint Institute


The Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of North Texas Health Science Center is a multidisciplinary group of orthopaedic and podiatric surgeons who are involved in patient care, education, and research.  This team of surgeons and staff collaborate to offer comprehensive care of all musculoskeletal disorders in a caring and compassionate environment while utilizing modern therapeutic techniques and technologies.  Our surgeons also instruct and teach orthopaedic and podiatric residents in fully ACGME/CPME accredited graduate medical education programs at John Peter Smith Hospital.  The Orthopaedic faculty actively participates in research and has published in internationally recognized peer reviewed journals.  Within these extensive clinical and academic practices, our orthopaedic and podiatric surgeons provide optimal service to the residents of North Texas and beyond.

David M. Lichtman, MD
Professor and Chairman, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, UNT Health Science Center

Chairman, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, JPS Health Network

News and Honors

Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine Physicians Named Top Docs