Biosafety Committee

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is required by the National Institute of Health Guidelines . This committee is advisory on matters relating to the safe use and handling of biological materials, including recombinant DNA molecules, on the UNTHSC Campus. IBC meets the 3rd Wednesday of each month from 12:00 Noon to 1:00 PM at CBH 260

IBC Chair

Expert microorganism and immunology 

Rance Berg, PhD

Associate Professor, Cell Biology and Immunology

University of North Texas Health Science Center

3500, Camp Bowie Blvd, Fort worth, TX 76107

Phone: 817-735-2121

Email: Rance.Berg@unthsc.edu

Bio Safety Officer

Maya P. Nair, PhD

Research Assistant Professor, Medical and Molecular Genetics

University of North Texas Health Science Center

3500, Camp Bowie Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76107

Phone: 817-735-5431

Email: Maya.Nair@unthsc.edu

Institutional Responsible Official

David P. Cistola, MD, PhD

Vice President, Research

University of North Texas Health Science Center

3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard

Fort Worth, Texas 76107

Phone: 817-735-2055

Email: David.Cistola@unthsc.edu

IBC Members

Knowledge in Institutional Commitments and Policies

Matthew Moncus

Safety Office, Safety Officer

University of North Texas Health Science Center

3500, Camp Bowie Blvd, Fort worth, TX 76107

Phone: 817-735-2697

Email: Matthew.moncus@unthsc.edu

Animal Expert

Egeenee Daniels, DVM

LAB ANIMAL MEDICINE, Director

University of North Texas Health Science Center

3500, Camp Bowie Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76107

Phone: 817-735-2017

Email: Egeenee.Daniels@unthsc.edu

Expert in Public Health

Witold Migala, PhD

Assistant Professor

Dept: SPH, Epidermiology

University of North Texas Health Science Center

3500, Camp Bowie Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76107

Phone: 817-735-0151

Email: Witold.Migala@unthsc.edu

DNA Specialist

Eric B Gonzales, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience

University of North Texas Health Science Center

3500, Camp Bowie Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76107

Phone: 817-735-2755

Email: Eric.B.Gonzales@unthsc.edu

Community Member

Laurie Crain

Police Captain

University of North Texas Health Science Center

3500, Camp Bowie Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76107

Phone: 817-735-2210

Email: Laurie.Crain@unthsc.edu

Community Member

Giridhar Akkaraju, PhD  

Department of Biology, Associate Professor

Winton Scott Room 401, 2800 South University Drive

Texas Christian University, Fort Worth, TX 76129

Phone: 817-257-6125

Email: g.akkaraju@tcu.edu

Community Member

Harold W. Keller, PhD

Botanical Research Institute of Texas

1700 University Drive, Fort Worth, TX 76107

Phone: 817-460-6695

Email: haroldkeller@hotmail.com.

This page last updated 19th Feb 2014