Meet Dr. Williams

Michael R. Williams, DO, MD, MBAMichael Williams, UNTHSC President
President, UNT Health Science Center

Dr. Michael Williams was named President of the UNT Health Science Center (UNTHSC) in July 2013. He previously served on the UNT System Board of Regents as an appointee of Texas Governor Rick Perry for 15 months, relinquishing the position prior to being named UNTHSC Interim President in December 2012.

He is a Fort Worth native and, as a 1981 UNTHSC graduate, is the first alumnus to lead the 40-year old institution, which includes the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM), the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the School of Public Health, the School of Health Professions and the UNT System College of Pharmacy.

In 2013, Dr. Williams was named to U.S. News & World Report’s prestigious national Hospital of Tomorrow Advisory Council. He is one of only 12 national health care leaders serving on the council and the only leader from Texas.

Dr. Williams practiced anesthesiology and critical care for more than 20 years prior to serving as CEO of Hill Country Memorial Hospital in Fredericksburg, Texas from 2008 to 2012. Under his leadership, the hospital received numerous awards for quality, including:

  • Awarded Top 10 Finalist for the Malcolm Baldrige National Presidential Quality Award (2013)
  • Won the Malcolm Baldrige National Best Practice for Leadership (2013)
  • Selected as a Truven Top 100 US hospitals (2012 and 2013)
  • Named Number 1 in U.S. for patient experience by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) – (December 2012)

Dr. Williams earned his bachelor's degree from Texas Wesleyan University and medical degrees from TCOM and Ross University; an MBA from Duke University; and a Master's degree in Health Care Management from Harvard University.

Dr. Williams is board certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology in anesthesiology and critical care medicine; is a member of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association; Texas Medical Association; American College of Physician Executives; American College of Health Care Executives, and a fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians.

This page last updated 18th Feb 2014