Faculty Grievance and Appeal Committee

Reporting Structure

The faculty grievance and appeal committee shall report to the president through the provost.

Composition and Terms

The committee shall consist of two members from each school elected from full-time faculty having the rank of associate professor or professor. The term of service shall be two years, with terms staggered so that four nominations to fill vacancies shall be made by the Faculty Senate. Department chairs and deans cannot serve and there shall be no ex-officio members.


The committee shall receive written appeals from faculty members and conduct hearings, as described in Faculty Bylaws Article XII - Appeals; Article XIII - Faculty Misconduct and Article XV - Financial Exigency, as appropriate.


Copies of minutes of the meetings of this committee shall be available only to committee members, the appealing faculty member and the administrator whose decision was appealed.

Committee support: Shay.Singleterry@unthsc.edu

Faculty Grievance and Appeal Committee FY14

Member Title Department School  Term Begins  Term Expires
Rusty Reeves, PhD, Chair   Professor  Cell Biology & Anatomy  GSBS 9/1/2012 8/31/2014
Shande Chen, PhD  Professor  Biostatistics  SPH 9/1/2012 8/31/2014
Patrick Clay, PharmD  Professor   Pharmacotherapy  SCP 9/1/2013 8/31/2015
Patricia Gwirtz, PhD  Professor  Integrative Physiology and Anatomy  GSBS 9/1/2013 8/31/2015
Lisa Killam-Worrall, PharmD  Associate Professor  Pharmacotherapy  SCP 9/1/2013 8/31/2015
Venita Lovelace-Chandler, PhD  Professor  Physical Therapy Program  SHP 9/1/2013  8/31/2015 
Rita Patterson, PhD  Professor  Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine  TCOM 9/1/2012 8/31/2014
Yasser Salem, PT, PhD  Associate Professor  Physical Therapy Program  SHP 9/1/2013 8/31/2015
Damon Schranz, DO  Associate Professor  Family Medicine  TCOM 9/1/2012  8/31/2014 
Emily Spence-Almaguer, PhD   Associate Professor  Behavioral & Community Health  SPH 9/1/2013 8/31/2015
Alternate Members
Barbara Atkinson, DO  Professor  Internal Medicine  TCOM 9/1/2013  8/31/2015 
Harvey Brenner, PhD  Professor  Behavioral & Community Health  SPH 9/1/2012 8/31/2014
Patrick Cammarata, PhD  Professor  Cell Biology & Anatomy  GSBS 9/1/2012 8/31/2014
Susan Franks, PhD  Associate Professor  Family Medicine  TCOM 9/1/2012 8/31/2014 
Amy Nordon-Craft, PT, DSc  Associate Professor  Physical Therapy  SHP 9/1/2012 8/31/2014 
Katalin Prokai, PhD  Associate Professor  Pharmaceutical Sciences  SCP  9/1/2013  8/31/2015

This page last updated 20th Oct 2014