The Faculty Senate

The prime responsibility of the Senate shall be to represent the faculty concerning issues that pertain to the institution. In that respect, the Senate shall be comprised of faculty who shall endeavor to advance the welfare of the institution. The senators shall also be charged with bringing issues from the departments, from which they are elected, to the Senate and informing their respective departments about issues being considered by the Senate. 

Please see the UNTHSC Faculty Senate Bylaws for a complete description of composition, terms and responsibilities.

Meeting Dates FY14 (September 1, 2013 - August 31, 2014)

The Faculty Senate generally meets on the second Friday of each month at 7:30 am in EAD-719.  Meeting dates listed below.

September 20 / October 11 / November 8 / December 13 / January 10 / February 14 / March 21 / April 11 / May 9/ June 13 / July 11 / August 8

Meeting Minutes

FY14:  September / October / November / December / January / February / March


Current Issues

Faculty Evaluation of Administration Survey Sept 2013

Faculty Senate Survey of Upper Level Administration Dec 2013

Faculty Senate Survey of Upper Level Administration Feb 2014

Faculty Senate Membership FY14 

For issues that you would like for the Senate to address, please contact your department Faculty Senator or email the Senate Secretary at

Senate President: Peter Raven, PhD
President Elect:  Amy Moss, DO, FACOI, DABHPM
Past President: Joseph Ronaghan, MD, FACS

 Department Faculty Senator Term Begins Term Ends
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Cell Biology & Anatomy Geoffrey Guttman, PhD  9/1/2012  8/31/2015 
Forensics & Investigative Genetics Joseph Warren, PhD  9/1/2013  8/31/2016
Integrative Physiology and Anatomy Peter Raven, PhD  9/1/2011 8/31/2014 
Molecular Biology & Immunology Jerry Simecka, PhD  4/11/2013 8/31/2014
Pharmacology & Neuroscience Robert Barber, PhD  9/1/2012  8/31/2015
At Large Member Robert Wordinger, PhD
 9/1/2013 8/31/2016
School of Health Professions
Physician Assistant Studies Thomas Diver, MPAS, PA-C 9/1/2013  8/31/2016
Physical Therapy Michael Flyzik, PT, MA, DPT, OCS  9/1/2013  8/31/2016
At Large Member Yasser Salem, PT, MS, PhD, NCS, PCS 9/1/2013 8/31/2016
School of Public Health
Behavioral & Community Health Scott Walters, PhD  3/22/2013  8/31/2015
Biostatistics & Epidemiology Subhash Aryal, PhD  9/1/2013 8/31/2016
Environmental & Occupational Health  No representative (less than five  faculty)

Health Management & Policy Thad Miller, MPH, DrPH  9/1/2013 8/31/2016
At Large Member Youcheng Liu, ScD, MD, MPH, MS  9/1/2013  8/31/2016
Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
Community Medicine Harold Fain, MD  1/1/2014  8/31/2016
Family Medicine Linda Ball, DO  9/1/2011 8/31/2014
Internal Medicine Amy Moss, DO, FACOI, DABHPM  9/1/2013  8/31/2016
Manipulative Medicine Sharon Gustowski, MPH, DO  9/1/2011  8/31/2014
Medical Education Roy Martin, DMin, MDiv  9/1/2012 8/31/2015 
Obstetrics & Gynecology Frank DeLeon, MD  9/1/2012  8/31/2015
Orthopaedic Surgery Victor Kosmopoulos, PhD  9/1/2012 8/31/2015
Pediatrics John Podgore, DO, MPH  9/1/2011  8/31/2014
Psychiatry & Human Behavior Scott Winter, MD  9/1/2013  8/31/2016
Surgery Joseph Ronaghan, MD, FACS  11/20/2010  8/31/2014
At Large Member Marija Djokovic, MD  9/1/2011  8/31/2014
College of Pharmacy
Pharmaceutical Sciences Katalin Prokai, PhD 9/1/2013 8/31/2016
Pharmacotherapy Patrick Clay, PharmD 9/1/2013 8/31/2016
At Large Member Eric Cheng, PhD 9/1/2013 8/31/2016
Faculty Bylaws Committee Chair Patricia Gwirtz, PhD (Ex-officio)

Recording Secretary

Shay Singleterry

This page last updated 03rd Jun 2014