UNTHSC Tuition and Fees

The information in this web site is provided to better assist students in assessing the cost of enrolling at the University of North Texas Health Science Center (UNTHSC). While this information is intended to be comprehensive, tuition and fees, are subject to increase or decrease by action of the Texas Legislature and/or the Board of Regents of UNT. Students are responsible for any additional amounts due UNTHSC resulting from post audits and corrections, including all fees and waivers; i.e. registration assessing errors, changing from off-campus to on-campus classes, invalid employment waivers, etc.

UNTHSC is a state-supported institution and, as such, is subject to state laws. Since state law prohibits the extension of credit, all financial obligations to the university must be made when due. The university cannot cash checks made payable to it and the student. Checks made payable to the university and the student can be applied to a student’s account balance after obtaining the proper endorsement.

For school and program specific tuition and fee amounts, please click on the links found on the left side of this website.

Click here to view the UNTHSC 2014-2015 Tuition Rates


Explanation of Tuition and Fees

All fees listed are subject to change.

Tuition

Statutory Tuition (§54.051)
Statutory tuition rates are set by the Legislature.  Tuition generated from statutory tuition must be deposited in the State Treasury and expenditures from these funds are subject to state expenditure guidelines.

Designated Tuition (§54.0513)
Designated tuition allows the institution to determine the rate per semester credit hour to be charged.  Designated tuition is charged in addition to the statutory and board authorized tuition.  Designated tuition must be used to support the academic mission of the institution but maintains more flexibility than statutory tuition.  The Board of Regents must approve designated tuition rates.

Board Authorized Tuition (§54.008)
Board authorized tuition must be approved by the governing board of the institution.  It cannot be higher than the statutory rate.

Excess Hours (§54.012)
Doctoral students who take more than 130 semester credit hours to complete their degree will be subject to out-of-state tuition rates.

Fees

Account Services Fee (§54.504)
A fee of $25 per term is charged to each student enrolled at the UNT Health Science Center.  This fee covers the costs associated with payment services.

Cadaver Anatomy Fee (§54.504)
A $300 fee is collected for each PA and DPT student during his or her first term of enrollment.  DO students are charged this fee during the first and second year of enrollment.  This fee is also charged to all GSBS Medical Sciences and Structural Anatomy students.  This fee covers the costs associated with student activities that involve dissections and prosections.

Environmental Services Fee (§54.5041)
A fee of $10 per term with an annual maximum of $30 will be charged to all enrolled students.  Medical students will be charged the annual maximum of $30.  This fee supports the costs associated with recycling and energy conservation efforts.

ID Card Fee (§54.504)
A $25 ID card fee is collected from each student during his or her first term of enrollment.  This fee covers the cost associated with issuing student identification cards.  A replacement fee of $25 is charged for misplaced or damaged cards.

Installment Fee (§54.007)
A fee of $15 will be charged to all students electing to pay tuition and fees by installment.

International Student Service Fee (§54.504)
A fee of $20 is collected each term from students that are not citizens or permanent residents of the United States.  This fee covers costs associated with providing services unique to this student population.  These services include orientation programs, personal counseling regarding immigration rules and visa status, and other related issues.

Instructional Fee – Academic Support Services (§54.504)
All courses utilizing Academic Support Services are subject to a fee of $7.50 per semester credit hour.  This instructional fee will support the academic support services provided for specific courses in which this service is utilized.

Instructional Fee – Library Services (§54.504)
All courses will be charged a fee of $7.50 per semester credit hour instructional fee in the form of a library fee.  This fee will support the services provided by the library.

Instructional Fee – Technology Services (§54.504)
All courses will be charged a fee of $2.50 per semester credit hour instructional fee in the form of a technology fee.  This fee will support the services provided by Academic Information Resources and Technology.

Instructional Fee – Testing Services (§54.504)
All courses utilizing Testing Services are subject to a fee of $7.50 per semester credit hour.  This instructional fee will support the testing services provided for specific courses in which this service is utilized.

Instructional Fee - Distance Learning (§54.504)
All courses offered in an online or distance learning format will be charged a fee of $65 per semester credit hour.  This instructional fee will support the needs related to the delivery of online courses.

Insurance Processing Fee (§54.504)
A fee of $25 will be charged to all students that apply for a plan offered as part of the UNT System sponsored student health insurance plan.  This fee may only be charged to a student once per academic year with an annual maximum of $25.  This fee supports the costs associated with the verification and processing of student health insurance plans.

Lab Coat Fee  (§54.504)
A $30 fee is collected for each student in any GSBS program during his or her first term of enrollment.  This fee covers the costs associated with issuing lab coats.

Back to Top

Lab Fees (§54.501)
A fee of $25 per year is collected from all first and second year medical students.  First year physician assistant and physical therapy students are charged $12.50 in the fall and spring term.

Late Registration Fee (§54.504)
A fee of $25 is collected from all students registering during the designated late registration period.

Matriculation Fee (§54.504)
A $50 fee is collected during the first term of enrollment for each new student.

Medical Malpractice Insurance Fee (§54.504)
All medical and physician assistant students are required to carry medical malpractice insurance.  This fee is $30 per academic year.

Medical Services Fee (§54.5081)
The fixed medical services fee is used solely to provide medical services to students registered at the health science center.  This fee is $67 per term or $200 per academic year.

Parking Fees (§54.505)
Student parking permits are $90 per academic year.  If the permit is lost, stolen, or destroyed, replacement permits will be issued at a charge of $5.

Registration Reinstatement Fee (§54.504)
Students who fail to make payment of tuition and fees by the payment deadline will be administratively withdrawn.  Registration may be reinstated upon appeal with a reinstatement fee of $250.

Student Center Fee (§54.515)
A fee of $10 per term or $30 per academic year is collected from all students for the maintenance and operation of the student lounges.

Student Health Insurance Fee (§54.504)
Please review the Student Affairs Student Health Insurance website for program-specific student health insurance rates. It is compulsory for all students to carry medical and hospitalization insurance while enrolled at the Health Science Center. All students will be automatically enrolled and billed for the UNT System Student Health Insurance Policy.  Students can waive this coverage by providing proof of coverage in the form of insurance documents showing minimum coverage amounts by the census date of each term of enrollment. Insurance coverage must remain in effect throughout the duration of enrollment. For waiver information, students should visit the Student Affairs website.

Back to Top

Student Malpractice Insurance Fee (§54.504) All physical therapy students are required to carry malpractice insurance.  This fee is $14.50 per academic year.

Student Services Fee (§54.503)
Student service fees are assessed to cover the costs of student services that directly involve or benefit students, including but not limited to, recreational activities, lecture series and student government.  This fee is $20 per semester credit hour with a minimum of $120 and a maximum of $250 in the fall, spring, and summer terms.  Medical students are charged the annual maximum of $750.

Transcript Fee (§54.504)

A $50 fee is collected from each student during his or her first term of enrollment.  This one-time fee allows each student to order an unlimited amount of UNTHSC Official Transcripts.

Technology Fee (§54.504)
A $2000 fee is collected for each DO, PA, DPT,
PharmD, Med Sci, Biotechnology, and Clinic Research Management student during their first term of enrollment.  FGEN-MS students are charged $1500 during their first term of enrollment.  This fee covers the costs associated with issuing laptops to each student.

White Coat Ceremony Fee  (§54.504)
A $100 fee is collected from each DO, PA, DPT, and PharmD student during their first term of enrollment.  This fee covers the costs associated with the White Coat Ceremony and the issuing of a white coat to each student.



Other Fees (§54.504)
Exam for Credit or Placement
$25
Delinquent Payment Fee
$15
School of Health Professions Admissions Supplemental Application Fee
 $35
Assurance Deposit (SPH Only)
$200
Change of Concentration Fee (SPH Only)
$25
Deferment Fee - D.O.
$1,000
Deferment Fee - SPH
$300
Returned Check Fee
$25
Graduation Fees (§54.504)
Graduation Fee
$150
Filing Fee (GSBS AND SPH Only)
$20
Archiving Fee
$75

Back to top


Get this feed UNTHSC UNTHSC Tuition and Fees feed

This page last updated 09th May 2014